Welcome GUEST

Sign In Sign Up
   Present Andhra Pradesh Assembly Seats
Congress     -154
TDP             -86
TRS             -16
MIM            -7
CPI              -4
BJP              -3
YCP             -2
CPM            -1
Loksatha       -1
Independent  -3
Other            -17
Total            =294

The elections were necessitated by the defection of two TDP MLAs – Jogu Ramanna and Gampa Goverdhan besides Jupally Krishna Rao and T. Rajaiah (both Congress) to the TRS.

Dr. Nagam Janardhan Reddy (suspended TDP MLA) contested as an independent while N. Prasanna Kumar Reddy joined the YSR Congress.

The results show that Dr. Rajaiah (Station Ghanpur), Jogu Ramanna (Adilabad), Jupally Krishna Rao (Kollapur), Prasanna Kumar Reddy (Kovur) and Dr. Janardhan Reddy (Nagarkurnool) improved their winning margins, though they contested on a different party ticket. The only exception was Gampa Goverdhan, whose majority fell from 47,699 (2009) to 44,465.

The most surprising result was that of Mahabubnagar, where an independent N. Rajeswar Reddy had won in the 2009 elections. He was associated with the BJP before switching over to the Praja Rajyam but fighting the elections as an independent on being denied the ticket.

This time around, Y. Srinivas Reddy, quit the TRS and entered the fray as BJP nominee. Mr. Srinivas Reddy scraped through with a margin of 1,875 votes compared to the wining 5,137 vote winning margin of the independent in 2009.
Wed 21 Mar, 2012,11:28:58 PM
Related News
Chiranjeevi, Renuka elected to Rajya Sabha from AP
Kiran Reddy says including me, Everyone responsible
Gilani, PM Manmohan for Nuclear Security Summit in Seoul
No Clarity on Telangana from Congress - Keshav Rao
Andhra Pradesh CM facing heat over bypolls defeat
ByPoll results showed Telangana wish
Maoist bandh on March 24 in Visakha
IT Minister Ponnala - New IT Policy to be Unveiled Soon
Andhra CM in trouble, health minister DL resigns
AP 2012 By Election Results, Big win for TRS