Welcome GUEST

Sign In Sign Up
   AP 2012 By Election Results, Big win for TRS
Constituency                                 Winnner                          Party
Mahabubnagar                         Y. Srinivas Reddy                    BJP
Station Ghanpur                        T.Rajaya                                 TRS
Kollapur                                   Jupalli Krishna Rao                  TRS
Adilabad                                   Jogu Ramanna                         TRS
Kamareddy                               Gampa Goverdhan                   TRS
Nagarkurnool                            Nagam Janardhan Reddy          Independent
Kovur                                       N Prasanna Kumar Reddy        YSR Congress

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) bagged four Assembly seats on Wednesday, ensured the victory of Nagam Janardhan Reddy, an independent it supported, but conceded the sixth seat in Telangana – Mahabubnagar – to the BJP.

The YSR Congress won by a comfortable margin from the lone seat it contested, Kovur in Nellore district of coastal Andhra, making certain that the Congress and the Telugu Desam drew a blank in the seven Assembly by-election seats.

In Kovur, YSR Congress candidate N Prasanna Kumar Reddy beat TDP’s S Chandra Mohan Reddy.

The BJP also won one seat. The party’s Y Srinivas Reddy beat the ruling Congress candidate M Prakash in Mahabubnagar.

Congress candidates stood in the second place in four seats and the TDP in two. TDP candidates also forfeited their security deposits in Kamareddi, Mahabubnagar and Nagarkurnool. Yet, their leaders were largely unfazed, having resigned themselves to the impact of the pro-Telangana sentiment in six seats and the Jagan factor in one. The Congress leaders had themselves to blame for the debacle since its leaders did not campaign wholeheartedly. In the case of the BJP, its leaders feel that their pro-Telangana stand is vindicated again as also their decision to field a candidate against the TRS

Wed 21 Mar, 2012,11:14:09 PM
Related News
Chiranjeevi, Renuka elected to Rajya Sabha from AP
Kiran Reddy says including me, Everyone responsible
Gilani, PM Manmohan for Nuclear Security Summit in Seoul
No Clarity on Telangana from Congress - Keshav Rao
Andhra Pradesh CM facing heat over bypolls defeat
ByPoll results showed Telangana wish
Maoist bandh on March 24 in Visakha
IT Minister Ponnala - New IT Policy to be Unveiled Soon
Andhra CM in trouble, health minister DL resigns
Present Andhra Pradesh Assembly Seats