Welcome GUEST

Sign In Sign Up
   Chiranjeevi resigns from AP Assembly membership
Chiranjeevi resigns from AP Assembly membership, Rajya Sabha elections, Andhra Pradesh politics, Chiranjeevi

Actor-turned-politician K. Chiranjeevi today resigned from the membership of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly following his election to Rajya Sabha.

Mr. Chiranjeevi, who was elected to the Assembly from the temple town Tirupati in 2009, met Assembly Speaker Nadendla Manohar and handed over his resignation.

Mr. Chiranjeevi will take oath as Rajya Sabha member on April 3. With his resignation, the number of vacancies in the 294-member AP Assembly rises to 18.

It may be recalled that the Speaker earlier this month disqualified 16 ruling Congress MLAs and accepted the resignation of one rebel Praja Rajyam Party MLA for voting against the government on the no-confidence motion.
Thu 29 Mar, 2012,10:11:11 PM
Related News
Another commits suicide for Telangana cause
OMC Scam: CBI files chargesheet against IAS officer Sri lakshmi
Rs 5.73 cr on Rama Navamai a Record Collection in Tirumala
Lalu gives his support to Telangana cause
Jagan claims being made a scapegoat
Suicide attempt for Telangana State
CBI files charge sheet on Jagan
Chiranjeevi said he is obliged to people of Tirupati
Jagan Challanges CBI to probe Naidu, Kiran
Congress to take on Jagan loyalists