Welcome GUEST

Sign In Sign Up
   TRS, BJP for each other on Parkal By-Elections
BJP, Parkal by elections, byelections TRS, TRS, Rasamayi, Parkal, By elections Parkal, TRS parkal candidate Rasamayi balakishan

Telangana Rashtra Samiti and the Bharatiya Janata Party keen to win the upcoming Parkal byelection, TRS are vying to field singer-activist Rasamayi Balakishan as their official candidate. The popular balladeer, however, wants to be a consensual candidate for those political parties striving for a separate Telangana state.

The TRS, which received a jolt from the BJP in the Mahbubnagar by elections held two months ago is well aware that if it loses in Parkal, it would prove costly to its Telangana-centric politics in the coming days

The BJP, on its part, is said to be waiting for the TRS to make its decision, thus giving a twist to the byelections. According to reports, the BJP may field Mr Sahodara Reddy, who has RSS links, in case he is not considered by the TRS. TRS sources believe Mr Sahodara Reddy will not be the candidate as he had worked for the victory of BJP candidate Yennam Srinivas Reddy in the Mahbubnagar by elections.

The BJP is also actively considering whether to field Rasamay Balakishen, a popular Telangana folk artiste, in order to ensure the defeat of the TRS. BJP state president G. Kishan Reddy said "We are withholding the announcement of our candidate as part of our strategy. We may do it after coming to know the TRS nominee. Like any other political party, the BJP is treating Parkal seat as a prestige issue.”

However, Rasamayi's views have put the three stakeholders in a dilemma. M Kodandaram, the T-JAC chairman, said: "We are not in a position to advise any political party, but we wish that there is a consensual candidate representing the pro-Telangana movement."

Earlier the six Assembly segments held in Telangana, the TRS won four segments on its own and supported an Independent candidate in Nagarkurnool, Nagam Janardhan Reddy. Mr Janardhan Reddy won, but the TRS failed to win the Mahbubnagar Assembly seat, part of the Parliamentary constituency represented by none other than the party chief K. Chandrasekhar Rao. This time, only one Assembly segment for which byelection would be held falls in the Telangana region and any adverse result for the TRS would kick-start new political alignments

The TRS, however, has ruled out any possible truck with BJP for the by elections. "The party has decided to go it alone in the by elections. There is no possibility of joining hands with BJP," said Dr Shrawan Dasoju, a TRS politburo member.
Sun 06 May, 2012,10:19:24 PM
Related News
Andhra Pradesh Bypoll, YSR Congress in lead
Nokia Pureview 808 @ Rs 33,000
Facebook Exchange Real Time Bidding
Hyderabad is corruption capital of the country
Three Indians finalists in Google Science 2012
AP High Court denied to cancel bail to Vijay Sai
Andhra Pradesh by polls - YSRCP ahead in 15 seats
Blast in Vizag steel plant, Nine died
Andhra Pradesh bypolls counting starts
Security issue to VIP prisoners at Chanchalguda