Welcome GUEST

Sign In Sign Up
   IPL 5 - Rohit Sharma half-century, win to Mumbai Indians
IPL V, Rohit Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Munaf Patel, James Franklin, IPL 2012 Team, IPL 2012 News, IPL 2012, IPL 5, Daniel Christian, Dale Steyn

A Mumbai-Hyderabad match is never devoid of drama and suspense. The two sides, who have an even record against each other in the IPL

Rohit Sharma's breezy half-century Mumbai Indians pulled off a last-ball win over Deccan Chargers with five wickets to spare in their IPL-V match at the Y.S Rajasekhar Reddy ACA-VDCA stadium here on Monday night

It was heartbreak for the home side and especially for Dale Steyn, whose fiery 3-12 spell, had given his side a huge chance to win. In the end, however, it was Rohit who stole the thunder. With Mumbai needing 18 off the last over, James Franklin stuck Daniel Christian's first ball for a four and then took a two and stole a bye off the third ball.

Earlier, during the Hyderabad innings, there was high drama in the 13th over bowled by Munaf Patel which saw the dismissal of skipper Kumar Sangakkara. Sangakkara attempted a drive only to edge it on to his stumps. Even as the bails went up in the air, the ball hit keeper Dinesh Karthik's pads and then hit the stumps again. Sangakkara stood his ground even as the Mumbai players vehemently protested.

Umpire Anil Chowdhary consulted his colleague JD Colete, who ruled it not out. Harbhajan got into an argument with Colete and Patel and the other Mumbai players took on Chowdhary. After animated discussion, the umpires referred the decision to third umpire Dharmasena, who ruled Sangakkara (14) out.

The entire exercise took more than five minutes. What baffles one is the reluctance of the umpires to straightaway refer the decision to the third umpire. In the end, they made a mess of what should have been an easy decision to make.

It was Shikhar Dhawan who helped resurrect the Hyderabad innings after early hiccups. The southpaw tore into his former franchisee's attack in a blistering display of power hitting.


Deccan Chargers: Parthiv c Rohit b Munaf 1 (5b), S. Dhawan c Pollard b Malinga 41 (24b, 2x4, 4x6), B. Chipli c Malinga b Munaf 1 (6b), D. Christian c Pollard b Munaf 39 (36b, 1x4, 2x6), K. Sangakkara b Munaf 14 (19b, 1x4), C. White (not out) 30 (22b, 1x4, 2x6), D.B. Ravi Teja b Malinga 4 (2b, 1x4), A. Mishra c Munaf b Malinga 0 (2b), D. Steyn b Pollard 2 (2b), Ankit c Rayudu b Pollard 1 (2b); Extras (b-1, w-4): 5; Total (for nine wkts, in 20 overs): 138.

Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Parthiv), 2-9 (Chipli), 3-46 (Dhawan), 4-82 (Sangakkara), 5-123 (Christian), 6-127 (Ravi Teja), 7-127 (Mishra), 8-136 (Steyn), 9-138 (Ankit).

Mumbai Indians bowling: Harbhajan 4-0-18-0, Munaf 4-0-20-4, Malinga 4-0-27-3, P. Ojha 4-0-39-0, Pollard 4-0-33-2.

Mumbai Indians: T. Suman c & b Steyn 5 (9b, 1x4), R. Levi b Steyn 3 (9b), R. Sharma (not out) 73 (50b, 4x4, 5x6); A. Rayudu c Dhawan b Mishra 19 (24b, 1x4), K. Pollard c Dhawan b Christian 24 (18b, 3x6), D. Karthik b Steyn 7 (6b, 1x4), J. Franklin (not out) 7 (4b, 1x4); Extras (b-2, lb-2): 4; Total (for 5 wkts; in 20 overs): 142.

Fall of wickets
: 1-7 (Suman), 2-10 (Levi), 3-58 (Rayudu), 4-95 (Pollard), 5-120 (Karthik).

Deccan Chargers Bowling: Ankit 4-0-18-0, Steyn 4-1-12-3, Christian 4-0-49-1, Rajan 2-0-9-0, Mishra 4-0-31-1, White 2-0-19-0.

Mon 09 Apr, 2012,10:27:31 PM
Related News
KingsXI Vs Pune Warriors Kings XI Punjab gets first win
Delhi Daredevils versus Kolkata Knight Riders Team Squad
Delhi Daredevils victory over Team Chennai
Kolkata Knight Riders will look to start with a win
L.Balaji bowled RCB, KKR to win
Mumbai Indians crush Chennai by 8 wickets in IPL 5 opener
Yuvraj Singh returns to India
IPL Season 5 2012 Schedule
Rajasthan beat Punjab by 31 runs
India loses to South Africa via D/L method